A little smarter with your money. A lot more student life. PART OF THE STERLING FAMILY
Pound sign in a graduation cap and gownstudentsterling.
ENGLAND · NOTTINGHAM

University of Nottingham

HESA lists the provider as the University of Nottingham. This page only uses figures we could read on a cited page on 6 November 2026. The halls index does not print an academic year next to its “from” prices, so we do not label that whole index 2026/27.

Checked 6 November 2026. Figures can change. Tell us if a figure is wrong.

Enrolment

HESA’s statistical bulletin SB273, Figure 7, academic year 2024/25, lists University of Nottingham (UKPRN 10007154) with a published total of 36,460 HE student enrolments.

The same row publishes Total UK 28,430 (England 27,440, Wales 520, Scotland 95, Northern Ireland 185, Other UK 185) and Total non-UK 7,700 (EU 525, non-EU 7,175), plus Not known 330. The published Total UK, Total non-UK and Not known add up to that total. Inner components are also rounded and need not add up to those subtotals.

Source: HESA, Higher Education Student Statistics: UK, 2024/25, Where students come from and go to study, Figure 7. Published 27 January 2026. Accessed 6 November 2026.

Halls, from the prices the university shows

The halls index shows a “from” price per residence. The lowest is £124 a week at Albion House. The highest “from” price on that index is £315 a week at Cavendish Hall. A “from” price is a starting price, not the dearest room in that hall, and the index does not print an academic year on those cards. We are not calling £124–£315 a complete 2026/27 range.

Melton Hall’s own page shows from £164 a week, which matches the index, and it gives 2026/27 arrival dates of Friday 18 and Saturday 19 September 2026. If you are using a Student Finance England maintenance loan to pay, that page says a minimum payment of £250 is due by 11 September 2026 to secure the room, then deducted from the first instalment, with the remainder due on or before 2 October 2026. The £250 is a payment-on-account rule for that hall, not a weekly rent.

Starting prices on the halls index we read. Not a maximum, and the year is not printed on the index.
HallAdvertised fromWhat the index says about place
Albion House£124 a weekUniversity Park, self-catered, off campus
Cavendish Hall£315 a weekCatered, on campus

Sources: Halls of residence and Melton Hall. Accessed 6 November 2026.

Private rent

A private-rent range is not stated on the halls index or the Melton Hall page we checked. We are not inventing one.

Transport

A student bus fare is not stated on the halls pages we checked. Melton Hall’s page does say that in 2026/27 the university will use number-plate cameras, and that students cannot park on campus in core hours (Monday to Friday 9.15am to 4pm, and weekends and bank holidays 8am to 6pm) but can park outside those hours if the car is registered. That is a parking rule, not a fare. A 16–25 Railcard price stays on the Railcard site.

Sources: Melton Hall and 16–25 Railcard. Accessed 6 November 2026.

Campus and city

Mixed. The halls index marks some residences on campus, including catered halls on University Park and Bonington Student Village at Sutton Bonington, and others off campus, including Albion House and Broadgate Park. That is the index’s own on-campus and off-campus labels, not a rating. We have not measured journey times.

Why we use this living-cost band

Editorial label, not a university score and not a prediction of your room. We use “mid” because Nottingham is outside London and the halls index we checked starts at £124 a week at Albion House. Cavendish Hall is advertised from £315 a week on the same index. The year is not printed on the index, and the label is not your room.

Money support

An award amount is not stated on the halls pages we checked. We are not inventing a hardship figure. The Students’ Union advice service lists money among its topics at su.nottingham.ac.uk/advice.

A bursary tariff is not stated on the halls pages we checked. We are not inventing one. Ask the university’s funding pages, and use the Students’ Union money advice link below if you need help reading them.

University of Nottingham Students’ Union advice lists course, housing, health and money. The money topic is at su.nottingham.ac.uk/advice/money. Accessed 6 November 2026.

Which student-finance body you use depends on where you normally live, not simply where you study. England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland each have their own route. See student loans.

Banking

The student accounts in our banking guide are UK-wide products. We have not counted branches near this university, so we do not name a best branch. Each account we list can be managed in an app or online. Check the provider for what you can do without a branch. We are not repeating overdraft limits here.

Local links that matter

Direct links only. No affiliate parameters.

Student life

For clubs and societies, start with the Students’ Union. We are not scoring nightlife. The halls index does not print a social-spend figure.

Similar universities

Links below are other guides in this set of 12. They are not a ranking.

Sources

Every cost and enrolment figure above is tied to one of these. Accessed 6 November 2026 unless the row says otherwise.

  1. HESA, Figure 7, SB273, 2024/25. Where students come from and go to study. Published 27 January 2026. UKPRN 10007154.
  2. University of Nottingham, Halls of residence.
  3. University of Nottingham, Melton Hall.
  4. University of Nottingham Students’ Union, Advice.
  5. University of Nottingham Students’ Union, Money advice.
  6. Rail Delivery Group, 16–25 Railcard.
Compare student accounts Student deals Weekly budget Student loans All 12 universities