University of Birmingham
HESA lists the provider as The University of Birmingham. This page only uses figures we could read on a cited page on 6 November 2026.
Checked 6 November 2026. Figures can change. Tell us if a figure is wrong.
- 40,025 studentsHESA total, 2024/25
- Living-cost band: midOur label, method below
- Campus vs city: campus villagesVale, Pritchatts Park and Selly Oak
Enrolment
HESA’s statistical bulletin SB273, Figure 7, academic year 2024/25, lists The University of Birmingham (UKPRN 10006840) with a published total of 40,025 HE student enrolments.
The same row publishes Total UK 27,525 (England 26,435, Wales 830, Scotland 135, Northern Ireland 80, Other UK 45) and Total non-UK 12,485 (EU 460, non-EU 12,025), plus Not known 20. Adding the published Total UK (27,525), Total non-UK (12,485) and Not known (20) gives 40,030, which is not the published total. HESA rounds figures, so components need not match. We show the published total. Inner components are also rounded and need not add up to those subtotals.
Source: HESA, Higher Education Student Statistics: UK, 2024/25, Where students come from and go to study, Figure 7. Published 27 January 2026. Accessed 6 November 2026.
University accommodation fees, 2026/2027
The university’s accommodation fees page prints weekly and total columns for 2026/2027. It says high-speed Wi-Fi, contents insurance and utility bills are included. It also says the information was correct on publication in January 2026 and is subject to revision, and that weekly prices are only indicative towards total costs. We quote both columns and we have not divided one by the other. £107 for 42 weeks would not equal the £4,482 total on the Maple Bank row, which is why the page’s own warning matters.
The lowest weekly figure on those tables is £107 at Maple Bank (shared bathroom, Vale Village), with a printed undergraduate total of £4,482 and a postgraduate total of £5,335. The highest weekly figure is £360 for a postgraduate studio apartment plus at Pritchatts Road, total £17,966. Partner accommodation (Battery Park, Oak Brook Park and The Metalworks) is on the same tables and sits inside that weekly span. The page says you are bound for the 42, 50 or 51 weeks stated.
| Room | Weekly figure, as printed | Total, as printed |
|---|---|---|
| Maple Bank, undergraduate, shared bathroom | £107 | £4,482 |
| Pritchatts Road, postgraduate studio apartment plus | £360 | £17,966 |
Source: Accommodation fees. Accessed 6 November 2026.
Private rent
A private-rent range is not stated on the accommodation fees page we checked. We are not inventing one.
Transport
A student bus fare is not stated on the accommodation fees page we checked. We are not copying a fare from anywhere else. A 16–25 Railcard price stays on the Railcard site.
Sources: Accommodation fees and 16–25 Railcard. Accessed 6 November 2026.
Campus and city
Campus villages, with Selly Oak as well. The fees page groups rooms into The Vale Village, Pritchatts Park Village and Selly Oak Village, plus partner accommodation. That is a description of where the university lists its rooms, not a rating. We have not measured journey times.
Why we use this living-cost band
Editorial label, not a university score and not a prediction of your room. We use “mid” because this is outside London and the university’s own 2026/2027 table starts at £107 a week. The same table reaches £360 a week. The label does not say which room you will be offered.
Money support
The university’s Student Support Fund page says it helps students who cannot meet basic living costs despite other support. Awards are means-tested, are not guaranteed, are paid as a non-repayable bursary, and cannot help with tuition fees. That page does not state an award amount. We are not inventing one.
Separately, the Guild of Students Hardship Fund page says it offers a fixed non-repayable grant of £145, with a 2026/27 budget of £10,150 and 70 awards (25 in term 1, 25 in term 2, 20 in term 3). The same page said applications were closed when we checked. A fixed £145 grant is not the university Student Support Fund.
The university’s money advice page names the Chamberlain Award as a means-tested bursary and points to a funding database. It does not print the Chamberlain Award’s cash value in the text we read. We are not copying a figure from memory.
Guild Advice is the Guild of Students’ free, impartial and confidential advice service, including money and housing. Accessed 6 November 2026.
Which student-finance body you use depends on where you normally live, not simply where you study. England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland each have their own route. See student loans.
Banking
The student accounts in our banking guide are UK-wide products. We have not counted branches near this university, so we do not name a best branch. Each account we list can be managed in an app or online. Check the provider for what you can do without a branch. We are not repeating overdraft limits here.
Local links that matter
- Accommodation fees — 2026/2027 room prices.
- Guild Advice — money help, not a discount code.
- 16–25 Railcard — price on the Railcard site.
Direct links only. No affiliate parameters.
Similar universities
Links below are other guides in this set of 12. They are not a ranking.
- University of Nottingham — the other large Midlands university in this set.
Sources
Every cost and enrolment figure above is tied to one of these. Accessed 6 November 2026 unless the row says otherwise.
- HESA, Figure 7, SB273, 2024/25. Where students come from and go to study. Published 27 January 2026. UKPRN 10006840.
- University of Birmingham, Accommodation fees.
- University of Birmingham, Student Support Fund.
- University of Birmingham, Money advice.
- Guild of Students, Guild Hardship Fund.
- Guild of Students, Guild Advice.
- Rail Delivery Group, 16–25 Railcard.

Student life
For clubs and societies, start with the Guild of Students. We are not scoring nightlife. The fees page does not print a social-spend figure.