A little smarter with your money. A lot more student life. PART OF THE STERLING FAMILY
Pound sign in a graduation cap and gownstudentsterling.
NORTHERN IRELAND · BELFAST

Queen’s University Belfast

HESA lists the provider as Queen’s University Belfast. This page only uses figures we could read on a cited page on 6 November 2026.

Checked 6 November 2026. Figures can change. Tell us if a figure is wrong.

Enrolment

HESA’s statistical bulletin SB273, Figure 7, academic year 2024/25, lists Queen’s University Belfast (UKPRN 10005343) with a published total of 25,080 HE student enrolments.

The same row publishes Total UK 19,595 (England 1,670, Wales 150, Scotland 120, Northern Ireland 17,635, Other UK 20) and Total non-UK 5,480 (EU 1,790, non-EU 3,690), plus Not known 5. The published Total UK, Total non-UK and Not known add up to that total. Inner components are also rounded and need not add up to those subtotals.

Source: HESA, Higher Education Student Statistics: UK, 2024/25, Where students come from and go to study, Figure 7. Published 27 January 2026. Accessed 6 November 2026.

Queen’s accommodation fees, 2026–2027

The residential fees page prints weekly prices and a 40-week price. The 40-week contract runs from 12 September 2026 to 19 June 2027. The page says 48-week and 51-week contracts are also available, depending on student type, but it does not print a second weekly tariff for them. A 37-week contract is listed for Mount Charles rooms 26–50 because of refurbishment (12 September 2026 to 30 May 2027), without a separate price on the table we read.

The lowest weekly price is £119 for a standard room (785 rooms, £4,760 for 40 weeks). The highest is £243 for a Weavers’ Hall studio (98 rooms, £9,720 for 40 weeks). £119 times 40 equals £4,760, and £243 times 40 equals £9,720.

Lowest and highest weekly prices on the Queen’s 2026–2027 residential fees table
RoomRooms on that rowWeekly price40-week price
Standard785£119£4,760
Weavers’ Hall studio98£243£9,720

Source: Residential fees. Accessed 6 November 2026.

Private rent

A private-rent range is not stated on the residential fees page we checked. The page does mention accommodation at Student Roost in its debt warning. It does not print Student Roost’s rents. We are not inventing a private-rent figure.

Transport

A student bus or rail fare is not stated on the residential fees page we checked. We are not copying a Translink fare from anywhere else. A 16–25 Railcard is a National Rail product and does not set Belfast bus fares. Its price stays on the Railcard site.

Sources: Residential fees and 16–25 Railcard. Accessed 6 November 2026.

Campus and city

Mixed. The fees table prices “En suite BT9” and “En suite BT1/2” separately, so the university is listing rooms in BT9 and in the city-centre postcodes BT1 and BT2. The page also names Elms Reception for returning a stipend-deduction form. That is a description of the table, not a rating. We have not measured journey times.

Why we use this living-cost band

Editorial label, not a university score and not a prediction of your room. We use “mid” because Queen’s is outside London and its own 2026–2027 fees table runs from £119 to £243 a week on a 40-week contract. The label is not your room. Longer contracts are offered without a second weekly price on that table.

Money support

The student financial support page describes two funds. The Department for the Economy Student Support Fund is for full-time and part-time Northern Ireland and Great Britain students who already have their full tuition and maintenance loan entitlement. The University Financial Assistance Fund is for ROI, EU and overseas students, and for UK students who have not been assessed by a UK funding body. The page we checked says that second fund is open for the 2025–26 academic year and that you must show exceptional circumstances since the year began. Neither description states an award amount. We are not inventing one, and we are not treating the 2025–26 line as a 2026–27 cap.

The same page links to university bursaries. The table headed for academic year 2026–27 prints one household-income row in the HTML we read: up to £19,203, Queen’s Bursary £490 for undergraduate or PGCE students, and £95 for a compulsory year out. The Student Experience Bursary cell on that row is a dash. The page says the bursary is paid in one instalment, normally by February. We are not filling in income bands the table did not print.

The financial-support page also says the Queen’s Care Leavers Bursary is paid in two instalments of £500, one at the start of each semester. Accessed 6 November 2026.

Queen’s Students’ Union I need financial support points to the university funds and to SU Advice at studentadvice@qub.ac.uk. Accessed 6 November 2026.

Which student-finance body you use depends on where you normally live, not simply where you study. England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland each have their own route. See student loans.

Banking

The student accounts in our banking guide are UK-wide products. We have not counted branches near this university, so we do not name a best branch. Each account we list can be managed in an app or online. Check the provider for what you can do without a branch. We are not repeating overdraft limits here.

The residential fees page says Northern Ireland and Great Britain students can pay a 40, 48 or 51 week contract by 3 or 7 direct debits, and that not providing a direct-debit-capable UK bank account can move you onto a different payment type. That is an accommodation payment rule, not a recommendation of a student account.

Local links that matter

Direct links only. No affiliate parameters.

Student life

For clubs and societies, start with Queen’s Students’ Union. We are not scoring nightlife. The fees page does not print a social-spend figure.

Similar universities

Links below are other guides in this set of 12. They are not a ranking.

Sources

Every cost and enrolment figure above is tied to one of these. Accessed 6 November 2026 unless the row says otherwise.

  1. HESA, Figure 7, SB273, 2024/25. Where students come from and go to study. Published 27 January 2026. UKPRN 10005343.
  2. Queen’s University Belfast, Residential fees.
  3. Queen’s University Belfast, Student financial support.
  4. Queen’s University Belfast, University bursaries.
  5. Queen’s Students’ Union, I need financial support.
  6. Rail Delivery Group, 16–25 Railcard.
Compare student accounts Student deals Weekly budget Student loans All 12 universities