A little smarter with your money. A lot more student life. PART OF THE STERLING FAMILY
Pound sign in a graduation cap and gownstudentsterling.
SCOTLAND · EDINBURGH

University of Edinburgh

HESA lists the provider as The University of Edinburgh. This page only uses figures we could read on a cited page on 6 November 2026. The university publishes halls rents per month, so this guide does not invent a weekly halls figure.

Checked 6 November 2026. Figures can change. Tell us if a figure is wrong.

Enrolment

HESA’s statistical bulletin SB273, Figure 7, academic year 2024/25, lists The University of Edinburgh (UKPRN 10007790) with a published total of 39,015 HE student enrolments.

The same row publishes Total UK 22,775 (England 10,040, Wales 335, Scotland 11,855, Northern Ireland 450, Other UK 95) and Total non-UK 16,235 (EU 2,105, non-EU 14,135), plus Not known 5. The published Total UK, Total non-UK and Not known add up to that total. Inner components are also rounded and need not add up to those subtotals.

Source: HESA, Higher Education Student Statistics: UK, 2024/25, Where students come from and go to study, Figure 7. Published 27 January 2026. Accessed 6 November 2026.

University halls, in the university’s monthly figures

For 2026–2027, the university’s undergraduate living-costs page estimates an average of £1,546 a month for a single undergraduate, which it equates to £13,914 for a 39-week academic year and £18,552 for a full year. It says the figures were last calculated in March 2026 and do not include tuition fees. The page says the article was published on 9 March 2026.

University accommodation on that page is a 39-week lease. Catered rent, which includes two meals a day, is £1,169 a month, ranging from £842 to £1,518. Self-catered rent is £925 a month, ranging from £414 to £1,348. Utilities and Wi-Fi are included in both. Laundry is listed separately at £13 a month. The page says these ranges are the cheapest and most expensive undergraduate options on its accommodation website, and that a shared twin in a self-catered block is usually the cheapest. A weekly halls price is not stated. We are not converting the monthly figures into a week.

University of Edinburgh undergraduate accommodation rents, 2026–2027, as printed per month
TypeRent per monthUtilities and Wi-Fi
University catered, 39-week lease£1,169 (range £842–£1,518)Included
University self-catered, 39-week lease£925 (range £414–£1,348)Included

Source: Living costs for undergraduate study. Accessed 6 November 2026.

Private rent, in the university’s own estimates

The same page estimates private rent at £688 a month, before utilities of £55 a month and Wi-Fi of £9 a month. It says that private figure is an average from 2025 Citylets data for 2, 3 and 4 bed flats in Edinburgh, divided by the number of bedrooms. Private student housing (Unite, Homes for Students and Student Roost, as the page names them) is £1,227 a month, ranging from £659 to £1,781, with utilities and Wi-Fi included. Student Sterling has not run its own rent survey.

The page says most students stay in university accommodation in year 1 and move to private accommodation from year 2. It also says full-time students who live only with other full-time students are normally exempt from council tax, and that a household with non-full-time students may still have a bill.

Transport

The living-costs page says local bus travel is £0 to £58 a month. Under 22s can get free bus travel with the Young Scot National Entitlement Card. A Lothian Buses student pass is £58 a month, or £570 for a 9-month advance purchase. There is also a free university shuttle between King’s Buildings and the central campus. The page’s own budget uses £58 a month for local bus travel at age 22 and over, which is £522 over 39 weeks and £696 over 52 weeks.

Source: Living costs for undergraduate study. Accessed 6 November 2026.

Campus and city

Mixed. The living-costs page distinguishes catered university halls, self-catered university flats and private housing, and it names a shuttle between King’s Buildings and the central campus. First-year rooms are not described as one out-of-town campus only. That is a description, not a rating. We have not measured journey times ourselves.

Why we use this living-cost band

Editorial label, not a university score and not a prediction of your room. We use “mid” because the university is outside London and its own page estimates private rent at £688 a month, with self-catered university rent published from £414 a month. Catered university rent starts at £842 a month on that page, so the label is not your room. We have not turned those monthly figures into a weekly rent.

Money support

The university’s financial support fund page says the fund, which replaces the old discretionary and hardship funds, is for fully matriculated UK and international undergraduates and postgraduates, is focused on living costs, and cannot help with tuition fees. Students with SAAS or Student Loans Company funding must have applied for the full income-assessed loan. That page does not state an award cap.

The Students’ Association Advice Place page on discretionary and hardship funding says the Financial Support Fund is capped at £3,000 per academic year per student, and that many students are awarded less. We are attributing the £3,000 cap to the Advice Place page, not to the university fund page. Accessed 6 November 2026.

Scholarships and other funds are signposted from Funding and financial support. We did not copy a bursary tariff from that hub on this run, so no bursary amount is printed here.

Edinburgh University Students’ Association Advice Place covers emergencies and hardship. The page we read was marked last updated 9 September 2026. Accessed 6 November 2026.

Which student-finance body you use depends on where you normally live, not simply where you study. England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland each have their own route. See student loans.

Banking

The student accounts in our banking guide are UK-wide products. We have not counted branches near this university, so we do not name a best branch. Each account we list can be managed in an app or online. Check the provider for what you can do without a branch. We are not repeating overdraft limits here.

Local links that matter

Direct links only. No affiliate parameters.

Student life

The living-costs page builds a socialising estimate of £248 a month from items it names, including a gym membership, a society and intramural sport. That is the university’s method, not a Student Sterling score. For clubs, start with Edinburgh University Students’ Association.

Similar universities

Links below are other guides in this set of 12. They are not a ranking.

Sources

Every cost and enrolment figure above is tied to one of these. Accessed 6 November 2026 unless the row says otherwise.

  1. HESA, Figure 7, SB273, 2024/25. Where students come from and go to study. Published 27 January 2026. UKPRN 10007790.
  2. University of Edinburgh, Living costs for undergraduate study.
  3. University of Edinburgh, Financial support for all students.
  4. University of Edinburgh, Funding and financial support.
  5. Edinburgh University Students’ Association, Discretionary and hardship funding.
  6. Edinburgh University Students’ Association, Emergencies and hardship.
  7. Rail Delivery Group, 16–25 Railcard.
Compare student accounts Student deals Weekly budget Student loans All 12 universities