University of Liverpool
HESA lists the provider as The University of Liverpool. This page only uses figures we could read on a cited page on 6 November 2026.
Checked 6 November 2026. Figures can change. Tell us if a figure is wrong.
- 31,050 studentsHESA total, 2024/25
- Living-cost band: midOur label, method below
- Campus vs city: mixedGreenbank student village and the city campus
Enrolment
HESA’s statistical bulletin SB273, Figure 7, academic year 2024/25, lists The University of Liverpool (UKPRN 10006842) with a published total of 31,050 HE student enrolments.
The same row publishes Total UK 23,545 (England 21,255, Wales 1,195, Scotland 210, Northern Ireland 775, Other UK 115) and Total non-UK 7,495 (EU 440, non-EU 7,055), plus Not known 10. The published Total UK, Total non-UK and Not known add up to that total. Inner components are also rounded and need not add up to those subtotals.
Source: HESA, Higher Education Student Statistics: UK, 2024/25, Where students come from and go to study, Figure 7. Published 27 January 2026. Accessed 6 November 2026.
Undergraduate accommodation fees, 2026/27
The university’s accommodation fees chart is titled Accommodation Fees 2026 and prices a 39-week contract. Its 2026/27 accommodation guide says undergraduate students will all be on a 39-week contract and that the prices shown are for the 2026/27 academic year.
In the Student Village and City Campus blocks of the chart, the lowest weekly cost is £177.45 for a Greenbank small single (9 rooms, 39-week total £6,920.55). The highest weekly cost in those blocks is £280.56 for a premier studio apartment (2 rooms, 39-week total £10,941.84). £177.45 times 39 equals £6,920.55, and £280.56 times 39 equals £10,941.84.
The same chart then lists preferred private providers, including Student Roost, Unite Students and Kaplan Living. The lowest weekly figure in that private block is £110 at Agnes Jones House (superior non-ensuite, 39-week total £4,290). That is not a university hall, so it is not the halls range above.
| Room | Weekly cost | 39-week total |
|---|---|---|
| Greenbank, small single | £177.45 | £6,920.55 |
| City Campus block, premier studio apartment | £280.56 | £10,941.84 |
Sources: Undergraduate fees chart 2026/27 (PDF) and Accommodation guide 2026/27 (PDF). Accessed 6 November 2026.
Private rent, on the university’s fees chart
The preferred-private block of the same chart includes weekly prices from £110 (Agnes Jones House) up to rows such as True Student double ensuite at £206 and Classic Ensuite higher at £216. The chart tells you to refer to the private provider for some instalment detail. We are not treating that block as university halls, and we have not run a separate rent survey.
Transport
A student bus fare is not stated on the fees chart or the accommodation guide we checked. We are not copying a fare from anywhere else. A 16–25 Railcard price stays on the Railcard site.
Sources: Fees chart and 16–25 Railcard. Accessed 6 November 2026.
Campus and city
Mixed. The fees chart splits university rooms into a Student Village block, where the hall label is Greenbank, and a City Campus block, where the labels include Crown Place, Vine Court, Philharmonic Court and Melville Grove. That is the chart’s geography, not a rating. We have not measured journey times.
Why we use this living-cost band
Editorial label, not a university score and not a prediction of your room. We use “mid” because Liverpool is outside London. On the university’s own 2026/27 chart, university-block rooms run from £177.45 to £280.56 a week, which is a higher floor than some other non-London halls in this set. The label groups Liverpool with those non-London guides. It is not a claim that they cost the same, and it is not your room.
Money support
The University Hardship Fund page says the UHF 2026 is open. It can support registered UK and international undergraduates and postgraduates. Awards are discretionary, a contribution only, and not meant to cover a shortfall in full. Tuition fees will not be considered. The HTML page does not state a maximum award. The linked UK guidance for 2026/27 (PDF) describes how standard and non-standard awards are assessed and also does not print a pound cap in the text we could extract. We are not inventing one. Accessed 6 November 2026.
The UK hardship guidance points to fees and funding for other support. We did not copy a bursary tariff from that hub on this run, so no bursary amount is printed here.
Liverpool Guild of Students advice is the students’ union advice page that opened when we checked. The university’s own money team is Money Advice. Accessed 6 November 2026.
Which student-finance body you use depends on where you normally live, not simply where you study. England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland each have their own route. See student loans.
Banking
The student accounts in our banking guide are UK-wide products. We have not counted branches near this university, so we do not name a best branch. Each account we list can be managed in an app or online. Check the provider for what you can do without a branch. We are not repeating overdraft limits here.
Local links that matter
- Undergraduate fees chart (PDF) — 39-week prices.
- Guild advice — students’ union help, not a discount code.
- 16–25 Railcard — price on the Railcard site.
Direct links only. No affiliate parameters.
Similar universities
Links below are other guides in this set of 12. They are not a ranking.
- University of Manchester and University of Leeds — also in this set.
Sources
Every cost and enrolment figure above is tied to one of these. Accessed 6 November 2026 unless the row says otherwise.
- HESA, Figure 7, SB273, 2024/25. Where students come from and go to study. Published 27 January 2026. UKPRN 10006842.
- University of Liverpool, Undergraduate accommodation fees chart (PDF).
- University of Liverpool, Accommodation guide 2026/27 (PDF).
- University of Liverpool, University Hardship Fund.
- University of Liverpool, UHF guidance, UK students, 2026/27 (PDF).
- University of Liverpool, Fees and funding.
- University of Liverpool, Money Advice.
- Liverpool Guild of Students, Advice.
- Rail Delivery Group, 16–25 Railcard.

Student life
For clubs and societies, start with the Liverpool Guild of Students. We are not scoring nightlife. The fees chart does not print a social-spend figure.