A little smarter with your money. A lot more student life. PART OF THE STERLING FAMILY
Pound sign in a graduation cap and gownstudentsterling.
ENGLAND · BRISTOL

University of Bristol

HESA lists the provider as The University of Bristol. This page only uses figures we could read on a cited page on 6 November 2026.

Checked 6 November 2026. Figures can change. Tell us if a figure is wrong.

Enrolment

HESA’s statistical bulletin SB273, Figure 7, academic year 2024/25, lists The University of Bristol (UKPRN 10007786) with a published total of 32,435 HE student enrolments.

The same row publishes Total UK 21,530 (England 19,745, Wales 1,400, Scotland 190, Northern Ireland 140, Other UK 55) and Total non-UK 10,900 (EU 715, non-EU 10,185), plus Not known 5. The published Total UK, Total non-UK and Not known add up to that total. Inner components are also rounded and need not add up to those subtotals.

Source: HESA, Higher Education Student Statistics: UK, 2024/25, Where students come from and go to study, Figure 7. Published 27 January 2026. Accessed 6 November 2026.

University accommodation costs, 2026/27

The costs-by-residence table for 2026/27 has a column headed total cost not including catering. The page says a catered room needs an extra £2,731.06 a year for catering (around £72 a week) for two meals a day in term time. Bills included in the accommodation cost are water, gas and electricity, and internet. Basic contents insurance is included.

The lowest weekly cost in that table is £136.50 for 38 weeks, total £5,187. Two undergraduate rows share it: a standard catered twin at Clifton Hill House, and a standard self-catered twin with a sink at Manor Hall. The catered twin’s £5,187 does not include the catering extra. The highest weekly cost in the table is £346 for a self-catered 2-bed couple/family flat at Manor Hall, 51 weeks, total £17,646. That top row is couple/family accommodation, not a standard single.

Lowest and highest weekly costs in Bristol’s 2026/27 residence table
RoomWeekly costWeeksTotal, excluding catering
Clifton Hill House, twin, standard, catered, undergraduate£136.5038£5,187
Manor Hall, twin with a sink, standard, self-catered, undergraduate£136.5038£5,187
Manor Hall, 2-bed flat, couple/family, self-catered£34651£17,646

Source: Accommodation costs by residence. Accessed 6 November 2026.

Private rent

A private-rent range is not stated on the residence costs page we checked. We are not inventing one.

Transport

A student bus fare is not stated on the residence costs page we checked. We are not copying a fare from anywhere else. A 16–25 Railcard price stays on the Railcard site.

Sources: Accommodation costs by residence and 16–25 Railcard. Accessed 6 November 2026.

Campus and city

Mixed. The costs table includes Clifton Hill House, Manor Hall, Wills Hall, campus houses and residences such as Avon Point and The Courtrooms. Rooms are not listed as one out-of-town site only. That is a description of the table, not a rating. We have not measured journey times.

Why we use this living-cost band

Editorial label, not a university score and not a prediction of your room. We use “mid” because Bristol is outside London and the university’s own 2026/27 table starts at £136.50 a week. The same table reaches £346 a week for a couple/family flat. Catered totals exclude the £2,731.06 catering charge. The label is not your room.

Money support

The Financial assistance fund page says it does not need to be repaid and cannot be a main source of income. You can apply for a £50 food voucher, a cash award up to £900, or both if you qualify. One £50 voucher is available every 30 days, and the voucher application asks you to show access to less than £100 across all bank accounts. To apply at all, the page says you must be at risk of leaving because of money and currently have access to less than £1,000 across all accounts, including savings.

Cash awards: part-time or temporarily withdrawn students, a maximum of £600. Full-time students: level 1 £300, level 2 £600, level 3 £900. Term dates printed for applications include 14 September 2026 to 17 January 2027, 18 January to 30 May 2027, and 31 May to 12 September 2027. The page sets extra tests for each level. Read them before you rely on a figure. Accessed 6 November 2026.

The fund page names the Bristol Standalone Bursary for care leavers, estranged and bereaved students, as one reason someone might qualify for summer support or a level 3 award. It does not print that bursary’s cash value. We are not inventing it. The wider list is on the university’s student-finance pages linked from emergency financial support.

Bristol SU’s advice address bristolsu.org.uk/advice opened, when we checked, on the support centre. That is the students’ union page we reached. Accessed 6 November 2026.

Which student-finance body you use depends on where you normally live, not simply where you study. England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland each have their own route. See student loans.

Banking

The student accounts in our banking guide are UK-wide products. We have not counted branches near this university, so we do not name a best branch. Each account we list can be managed in an app or online. Check the provider for what you can do without a branch. We are not repeating overdraft limits here.

Local links that matter

Direct links only. No affiliate parameters.

Student life

For clubs and societies, start with Bristol SU. We are not scoring nightlife. The costs table does not print a social-spend figure.

Similar universities

Links below are other guides in this set of 12. They are not a ranking.

Sources

Every cost and enrolment figure above is tied to one of these. Accessed 6 November 2026 unless the row says otherwise.

  1. HESA, Figure 7, SB273, 2024/25. Where students come from and go to study. Published 27 January 2026. UKPRN 10007786.
  2. University of Bristol, Accommodation costs by residence, 2026/27.
  3. University of Bristol, Financial assistance fund.
  4. University of Bristol, Emergency financial support.
  5. Bristol SU, Support centre.
  6. Rail Delivery Group, 16–25 Railcard.
Compare student accounts Student deals Weekly budget Student loans All 12 universities